Dream Run

She ran with her feet like blades,
attacking all her fears so close to her
at the same time they attacked herself.
Jarring spikes clunking into reasons
and leaden walls, hollow nothings
she’d whispered unknowingly

since the beginning of time, as far as her
body could logically sense. Something, she,
had to be real though nothing was. Her
fears seemed real in a dazing sense, and this cage that
spun a web of dream that wasn’t a dream, or sleep
or slumber. Vapour. Stillness. She attacked the

stillness with her blade like feet, in an escape that
had never begun and a run that would never end.
Marathons even were a dream. All was endless
and that was okay. But cages, bell jars,
bubbles needed to be popped. They wouldn’t
pop and she carried on trying.

10 thoughts on “Dream Run

      1. Is the subject/object the origin of your emotions/anxiety or your relation with it. Is the own wishing that you wish or something else. I’m terrible at explaining; won’t get any better

        Like

      2. Ah I think I see. It’s just a general thing that’s there, not really about anything concrete, although it must be somehow. I guess maybe it’s hoping to get rid of the symptoms without looking at the cause. But the symptoms are what bother and in a way are also a cause. Anxiety is strange. Thanks for asking.

        Like

      1. I thought the character and the state of mind you described here sounded like Sylvia Plath. Maybe the “bell jars” reminded me of her. I don’t know if you did that deliberately. I love her poetry and also Ted Hughes’. I read her letters, as well, a very disturbed soul, so sad, despite her extraordinary gift and talent. Your poetry and style is you. I enjoy reading your poetry. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can relate to Sylvia Plath’s character more than her poetry style, the idea of the bell jar too. I’ve also read her journals – she was a disturbed and beautiful soul, and I think she could have come out of the depression if she’d had the proper help. Thank you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

